Never Too Late Basketball's Tips & Tales

get more game

“Listening to Rick Majerus”

Posted by Steve Bzomowski on February 9, 2007

Years ago, after leaving coaching at Harvard, I spent five days at the University of Utah as a guest of Majerus, watching the Utes practice, having lunches with him, even sitting in on staff meetings (except for those that involved recruiting). I learned as much in those several days as I had in all my basketball life. I’m constantly referencing him when I coach players and clinics. Now, I love listening to Rick Majerus commentate a basketball game. He did the Notre Dame at DePaul game last night and, though his style is somewhat halting, not much flow or rhythm and he doesn’t really hold a “conversation” with his partner, as is the way with many others (Raftery, Elmore), what he says is loaded with basketball wisdom and advice. It’s a clinic; it’s like he’s letting you inside the brain of a true basketball man. For instance, when defense didn’t get back he said, it’s fundamental that they first “point, talk and touch”. When a defender got beat on a backdoor cut because he turned his head away from the ball, Majerus reinforced my belief (that many coaches seem to have gotten away from): “keep vision on the ball when the cutter goes through”. He reacted to a hustle play by saying: ” give him the “atta boy award”! And, my favorite insightful, insider’s tip? After a player had dribbled and dribbled, looking for something that was not there, Majerus said, “The Celtics have a sign in their lockerroom that says ‘no dancing with the ball'”. I’m gonna use that one!

Majerus, of course, is also known for his quips, analogies, self-deprecation. Al McGuire, who famously said of the portly Majerus, “him losing twenty pounds would be like a deck chair blowing off the Queen Mary”, was, after all, his coach and mentor.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

21 Responses to ““Listening to Rick Majerus””

  1. Dan Ziminski said

    I turned on ESPN this Saturday and happened to catch the tail end of the Wisconsin vs. Iowa St game. Majerus called the game. You are right, he was fantastic! I’d say he was definitely the most insightful NCAA announcer I can recall. I like when he mentioned the irony that Iowa was running the Flex Offense right back at Wisconsin (who also runs it). He also knew details about each player’s strengths and weaknesses. You can tell he does his homework for the games.

    Like

  2. Dan – – I turned that game on, too, and at the intros when they showed who was announcing I was, like, “yeah”! That “flex” comment was real coach talk and think. (Reminds me of when I once heard Hubie Brown say at a clinic, “you always press a pressing team”.)

    Anyway, these are some of the other Majerus quotes I liked during the Iowa/Wisconsin game:
    • Pay the price for being lax (on defense)
    • Don’t want to foul 92 feet from the basket (a player fouled after missing a shot)
    • Drive to shoot ratio of 1:7; Get out on him, make him bounce it
    • A challenged passer
    • Great offensive rebounder. Gets it in traffic, finishes in traffic: a double-dipper
    • Hard to evaluate your weaknesses when you’re winning
    • Like Cool Hand Luke being chased by dogs

    Like

  3. […] the defender goes to double team, you MUST dive to the rim”). I felt the same way when Rick Majerus was doing college games for ESPN. I watch games to learn more about basketball, and when the […]

    Like

  4. best rebounder…

    […]“Listening to Rick Majerus” « Never Too Late Basketball’s Tips & Tales[…]…

    Like

  5. […] I also rooted for his teams no matter who they played. And when he became an analyst with ESPN, his commentary was not to be missed by anyone who was interested in learning more about the […]

    Like

  6. Matt said

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the favor”.
    I am trying to find things to improve my website!
    I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    Like

  7. Excellent blog! Do you have any helpful
    hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on
    everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Thanks a lot!

    Like

  8. Nancy said

    Very nice article. I absolutely love this site.

    Thanks!

    Like

  9. I will right away seize your rss as I can’t find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please permit me recognise so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  10. Caleb said

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web page
    and thought I should check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

    Like

  11. He also has a special workout for Spears called the ‘Four B’s,’ that includes:. The rules are that you must be the creator, it must be handmade, it cannot be food or beverages, you have to submit a quality photo of your work, it must be brand new (not used), and your work will be reviewed for quality. If you’re
    serious about treating your Forex trading like a business,
    then investing in the Guide To Getting Rich With Forex Robots’ “Metatrader Back Testing & Optimization Course” is a no brainer.

    Like

  12. cars said

    Buying a car is not for the faint of heart – it can cause you to
    break out in a sweat at the salesman runs his pitch on you.
    Don’t worry! The tips in this article will ensure you’re prepared for the
    battle which lies ahead, allowing you to get the bargain
    you deserve.

    Like

  13. Max said

    Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested to see if it can
    survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.

    My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had
    to share it with someone!

    Like

  14. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to return yet again since i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

    Like

  15. Attractive portion of content. I simply stumbled upon your blog and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your weblog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing in your augment and even I fulfillment you get entry to persistently fast.

    Like

  16. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the finest websites on the web.
    I most certainly will recommend this web site!

    Like

  17. Howdy! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading your articles.

    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same
    subjects? Thanks!

    Like

  18. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to
    shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

    Like

  19. Lashawn said

    Hey! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I
    came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Fantastic blog and excellent style and design.

    Like

  20. Ana said

    This paragraph will help the internet people for creating new web site or even a
    blog from start to end.

    Like

  21. Funny Vine said

    Hey there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m
    trying to get started and crete my own. Do you need any html
    coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would
    be greatly appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
