Never Too Late Basketball's Tips & Tales

get more game

The State of the Celtics (from the floor)

Posted by Steve Bzomowski on November 14, 2013

As of their first home game this year, their streak of sellouts stretching back to 2008 ended. I have been a season ticket holder for 15 years. Because of my lofty senior status (and the $$$ I have shelled out over those years) and their need to fill seats and to keep season ticket holders happy amidst the – ahem – rebuilding year, I got a call from the Celtic ticket office yesterday asking if I wanted two floor seats, 2nd row, under the basket near the visitors’ bench. Face value $575/seat. For free. I called my wife to see if she wanted to go. 90 minutes later she took this picture from our seats. Ainge At one point, she commented on how Ainge must be so wired into every play, every move, every gesture (it was interesting to see how many times players glanced ever so quickly and involuntarily at Ainge seeking, I dunno, affirmation? This includes former players like Al Jefferson and Ramon Sessions) and I said, “nah,” I didm’t think he looked it. After the way they played (89-83 loss to the team with the worst 10 year record in NBA history), it had me wondering if tanking is half the plan, and if it is, it allows Ainge to take a play or quarter off every now and again. What I saw was a GM not too concerned about losing. Image 2

One Response to “The State of the Celtics (from the floor)”

  1. basketball said

    Usually I do not learn post on blogs, but I
    would like to say that this write-up very compelled me
    to check out and do so! Your writing style has been
    surprised me. Thanks, very nice article.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
