Never Too Late Basketball's Tips & Tales

get more game

Rebounding (What’s Your Record?)

Posted by Steve Bzomowski on October 31, 2014

Two days ago, I was giving an hour shooting lesson with a guy, a recreational player kind of guy, who is a pretty good shooter. It got to the stage of the session where I had him shooting a bunch of threes. He makes probably 60-70% of them, so the misses are a bit of a surprise. While rebounding the misses (and getting back the makes), I thought about something I often say: that assistant coaches are the best rebounders in the world. Because coaches rebound so many shots they become very good at a particular rebounding skill: predicting the direction of the carom by watching the flight of the shot. (For some reason I always think of Jeff Van Gundy when I’m on this topic; perhaps because I once read that Pat Riley said Van Gundy is never happier than when he is feeding someone shots.)

So, I decided to prove to myself that I am among the “greatest rebounders in the world”. I counted how many misses in a row I could get before the ball (or missed shot) hit the ground. I dove for #9 but had to settle for 8 straight rebounds. (That #9 landed at the three point arc by the way; but not over my head. Never let a rebound go over your head!) I plan to break my record at next week’s shooting lesson. FWIW, I think it is very satisfying to be able to move to the spot on the floor where the ball (rebound) will go and to do that while the ball is still on its way to the hoop; feels self-satisfyingly clever.

One Response to “Rebounding (What’s Your Record?)”

  1. John said

    Do you also grab all the makes out of the net before it hits the ground? I find that makes it even more difficult.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
